Team History
Throughout our twelve years of being Team 888 Glenelg Robotiators, the team has built more than just robots; we have made friendships that will last a lifetime and build character. Each competition brings the creativity out of everyone. The team works together on seeing the clues, making designs, building prototypes, and finishing the task. Dean Sheridan has been the one who has started robotics, starting as a class for school then turning into an after school club. Our mentors have stuck with us even after graduating Glenelg to help out students. Our team is unique because students design and build robots, function without outside assistance, and work with each other to overcome challenges.

We won the Innovation in Control Award at both competitions we attended last year!


Founded by Dean Kamen in 1989, the non-profit For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology, or FIRST, reaches out to many students to introduce them to the world of science, technology, engineering, and math, with innovative programs and challenges.  With programs geared towards students from Kindergarten through High School, FIRST has reached out to over 300,000 students across the country.  FIRST has over 3,500 sponsoring organizations, and offers over $16 million in scholarship opportunities to students in the FIRST program.  


We are grateful to all our wonderful mentors, especially:

  • Dean Sheridan (Coach)
  • Raymond Gerstner
  • Melissa Perlman
  • Candace Gerstner
  • Charles Lange

Platinum Sponsors